Skip to main content

Religious symbols on government-supplied tombstones are not limited to Christian crosses, Jewish Stars of David, or Buddhist Wheel or Righteousness, though those might be among the most commonly seen. The Department of Veterans Affairs actually has approved 74 different religious symbols from which a veteran can choose for his or her government-supplied tombstone. The symbols are:

Page 1 of approved symbols

Page 1 of approved symbols

Page 2 of approved symbols

Page 2 of approved symbols

For full information on choosing a symbol and obtaining a government marker, visit the VA's page.

You may also enjoy:

*Take a walk through a cemetery

*WWII-era spy receives posthumous honor

*Honoring the Dead

Download a FREE Sample

*As an Amazon Associate, Military Trader / Military Vehicles earns from qualifying purchases.

Frontline Feature


Be Our Frontline Feature Sponsor

Get your company or auction front and center with our Frontline Feature. Click here to learn more.